Navratri Meaning

Navratri means nine forms of cosmic feminine energy, one of the most important and celebrated festivals is dedicated to Mother Durga. This is the period when our biological cycles  go through changes. The  cosmic  femine energy is worshiped during this. We should performs rituals like yagyas, puja, havan  etc to purify our body and mind. Keeping fast and consumption of sativk food , gives rest to digestive system and helps in detoxification. 

It usually falls between September and October and lasts for nine days.  The auspicious 9 days are useful for new beginings.

This celebration honors  Mother Durga, the feminine power  for defeating the demon Mahishasura, the buffalo demon. The demon Mahishasura was granted immortality by Lord Brahma on the condition that only a woman could defeat him.

9 forms of Mother  Durga,-

There are nine forms of Durga: Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri.

 Each day is marked with a different color and the worshipers dress in the colors corresponding to each day.

 Day 1: Yellow
\The day is dedicated to Shailputri, the symbol of nature and the special color of this day is yellow.  This color symbolizes happiness and joy.

Day 2: Green
The second day honors the Brahmacharini and is dedicated to spiritual enlightenment.  Green colored clothes should be worn on this day.

|Day 3: Gray
On the third day you should wear gray color.  The day is dedicated to Goddess Chandraghanta, who holds a crescent moon on her forehead.

Day 4: Orange
The fourth day is dedicated to Goddess Kushmanda.  Orange color should be worn on this day to represent brightness, happiness and energy.

Day 5: White
This day is dedicated to Goddess Skandamata.  The day represents purity and one should wear white colour.

 Day 6: Red
This day is dedicated to Goddess Katyayani and the color of this day is red.  The color represents the anger of the goddess towards the enemies.

Day 7: Dark Blue
 Goddess Kalratri is respected on this day.  The immense power of the goddess is depicted in dark blue colour.

Day 8: Pink
The eighth day is dedicated to Goddess Mahagauri.  On this day you should wear pink, which represents hope, self-purification and social upliftment.

Day 9: Purple
The last day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Siddhidatri.  Goddess blesses with knowledge and fulfills one’s expectation.  The color of this day is purple, which represents aspiration and power.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts